December 5, 2022
  • December 5, 2022
  • Home
  • Writer
  • Award-winning Odia writer Gourahari Das receives Sarala Puraskar

Award-winning Odia writer Gourahari Das receives Sarala Puraskar

By on October 26, 2022 0

Bhubaneswar: Prominent Odia fiction writer Dr. Gourahari Das was awarded the prestigious Sarala Puraskar for his short story collection ‘Bagha O Anyanya Galpa’ which was published by Timepass Publication in 2018.

Das received a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh and a citation at the 43rd Sarala Puraskar Awards Ceremony organized by Indian Metals Public Charitable Trust (IMPaCT) – the charitable wing of Indian Metals and Ferro Alloys Ltd – at Bhubaneswar Wednesday.

Addressing the ceremony as the chief guest, famous Hindi writer Udayan Vajpayee said that literature enables people to discover the truth. It stimulates and kindles the reader’s inner feelings and consciousness, he said.


Gourahari Das was also named the recipient of the Sahitya Akademi Translation Award for the year 2021 for “Chheli Chareibara Dina” – his Odia translation of the Malyalam novel “Aadujeevitham” (Goat Days) by Benyamin.

Prominent London-based painter and writer Prafulla Mohanti and Odissi music guru Ghanshyam Panda were also honored with ‘Ila-Bansidhar Panda Kala Samman’ for their valuable contribution in the field of art and music , respectively.

They received a cash reward of Rs 1.5 lakh each and citations.

The annual Sarala Puraskar, instituted by prominent Odia industrialist, Dr. Bansidhar Panda and his wife Ila Panda in 1980, has been awarded continuously since then by IMPaCT.

Get real-time updates straight to your device, subscribe now.